Early voting starts Monday for the city of Granbury’s special election set for Tuesday, June 29.

The special election is due to the resignation of Mayor Nin Hulett, whose term does not expire until November 2022.

Place 5 will also be on the ballot due to Tony Mobly relinquishing that seat to run for mayor. Whoever replaces him will have to run again in November if they want to serve a complete, three-year term.

The special election drew seven candidates – four for mayor and three for Place 5.

Candidates for mayor, in ballot order, are: Charles Nangle, Mobly, Jim Jarratt and Joanie Keays.

Candidates for Place 5, in ballot order, are: Richard Hoefs, Steven Vale and Cathy Reidy.

Friday, June 18 is the last day for the local elections office to receive applications for mailed ballots in that election.

All early voting will take place at Annex 1, 1410 W. Pearl Street.

Early voting hours are: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Friday (June 14-18); 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday, June 21, Wednesday, June 23 and Friday, June 25; and 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, June 22 and Thursday, June 24.

Election Day voting will take place at Annex 1 as well. Hours will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The Hood County News will post unofficial election results on its website, www.hcnews.com, that evening after votes have been tallied.

Some votes might possibly come in the next day. Wednesday, June 30, is the last day to receive completed ballots by mail that are postmarked on or before June 29.

Anyone with questions can contact the Elections Administration office at 817-408-2525. Elections Administrator Michele Carew’s email address is mcarew@co.hood.tx.us.

The Granbury chamber will host a candidate forum Thursday, June 17 in the auditorium at Granbury High School, 2000 West Pearl St. It will be from 6-7:30 p.m. and will be moderated by Eric Morrow, dean of the College of Liberal & Fine Arts at Tarleton State University.

kcruz@hcnews.com | 817-579-1886