Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Birdwell to chair rules committee for Paxton impeachment trial


Granbury’s Brian Birdwell, state senator for Texas District 22, has been selected by Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick to chair a special committee to recommend rules and procedures for the impeachment trial of Attorney General Ken Paxton.

On Saturday, May 27, the Texas House voted 121-23 to adopt 20 articles of impeachment against Paxton. He was suspended and referred to the Senate for trial on misconduct charges that include bribery, abuse of office, and obstruction.

In a statement issued Monday, May 29, after the Texas Senate received the articles of impeachment, Lieutenant Gov. Dan Patrick said that the senate “will follow its constitutional duty” in the matter. He announced that he had appointed a committee to develop proposed rules and procedures for the senate to follow in the impeachment trial process.

Six other state senators will serve with Birdwell on the committee. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa, D-McAllen, will be vice chair. Other state senators who will serve are Brandon Creighton, R-Conroe; Pete Flores, R-Pleasanton; Joan Huffman, R-Houston; Phil King, R-Weatherford; and Royce West, D-Dallas.

In his written statement, Patrick said, “When the rules are drafted, a date will be set for when the Senate will resolve into a court of impeachment to consider the articles.”