Following a seven-day burn ban issued by Hood County Fire Marshal Jeff Young on July 18, the Hood County Commissioners Court approved a 90-day burn ban during its meeting on Tuesday, July 25.
“I don't think there's anybody out here that thinks that we should not sign that burn ban, but Mike (Stafford) is here to confirm that,” Hood County Judge Ron Massingill said during the meeting.
"I know Jeff came in and did a seven-day burn ban,” Mike Stafford, deputy fire marshal said. “But here recently in that seven days, we've gone up 65 points.”
Even with the high temperatures and 100-degree days, Stafford said that it was still hotter in Hood County at this time last year.
“We're not near what we were last year,” he said. “It was hotter believe it or not, as far as 100-degree days, but yeah, we recommend the 90-day burn ban.”
According to the Texas A&M Forest Service, 150 counties in Texas are currently under a burn ban — a huge jump from the 97 counties that were under a burn ban only a couple of weeks prior.
The burn ban prohibits any outdoor burning or welding that would potentially create a public safety hazard.
A person violates this order if he/she burns any combustible material or conducts any outside welding without a dedicated fire spotter and adequate water supply.
Upon notification of a suspected outdoor burning, the fire department will be dispatched to the location of the fire and take immediate action to contain or extinguish the fire.
Anyone in Hood County who violates this order could receive a $500 citation, which is a Class C misdemeanor.
The burn ban for Hood County will remain in effect for 90 days unless the order is extended or lifted by the Hood County Commissioners Court.
If you see someone outside burning, please call the fire marshal’s office at 817-579-3335 or stop by in person at 401 Deputy Larry Miller Dr.
firstname.lastname@example.org | 817-573-1243
No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here